Uni Shots Part3: Panorama Overload

23 November, 2007 at 9:08 am (Uni pics) (, , , , )

*update: Original large panorama up-loaded.

So, how many of you managed to guess the previous post’s mystery symbol correctly?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Stephen guessed it correctly the first time. Darn, he’s pretty good. Actually he’s the only one who commented. Well, I guess we don’t see a lot of that symbol in Malaysia. Not many people have cardiac pacemakers here you see.

In case you’re wondering, the warning sign came from a Nondestructive Testing(NDT) machine in my faculty’s NDT lab. Too much for me to explain here about NDT. Click here if you want to know more.

***

What will you get when you take six pictures…

.

And stitch them up in a continuous manner?

Why, you’ll get one super long panorama shot of course!

Click here to see a normal (no panorama) shot of the same view

What you’re looking at is actually a 180 degree view outside of my window (the actual photo is much much bigger but stupid Flickr decided to be funny and limit my photo size to 1024 pix vertical, damn!). In fact looking at the top-most unstitched photo(the 1st one) you’re actually looking at the roof which is directly above my head!

As for bottom-most(last) unstitched photo, that would be equivalent to almost looking directly beneath my feet. It’s the ground floor. Here’s a side by side comparison:

.

.

I could have gone further and take 10 or more pics and stitch them up to give you a 360 degree view. But that would be pointless cause the other 180 degree view would be my room I took these photos from my room remember?

I used this software to do the photo stitching:

Of course, you can also use photoshop’s photomerge function to create wonderful panorama pics.

And thus, ends the university posts run. I think I’ve gone panorama crazy at the end of this. Can’t help it, it’s too addictive!

Have a happy weekend!

2 Comments

  1. My Tiny New Housemate (Macro Shot) « UniG - The blog your mama warned you about. said,

    […] photography, picture) I’ve updated and posted up the much larger panorama shot for this post. It’s all flickr’s fault for not allowing pictures bigger than 1024 pix. Don’t […]

  2. Aurora in the skies. « UniG - The blog your mama warned you about. said,

    […] a normal view outside my window, click here and here […]

Leave a Reply

