My Tiny New Housemate (Macro Shot)

29 November, 2007 at 10:34 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

I’ve updated and posted up the much larger panorama shot for this post. It’s all flickr’s fault for not allowing pictures bigger than 1024 pix. Don’t ask me to upgrade my account ok? No money.

Remember a couple a days ago I said my last house mate has left? Well, the day after that I was greeted with a new house mate. This new house mate of mine doesn’t talk much, is pretty tiny, and worse is I don’t even know its gender. Yeah, the fella is really androgynous looking.

Never mind, I managed to take a photo of him/her:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Metalic green wtf.

 

There! Pretty spiffy looking ain’t that fella?

Haha, sorry for the lame joke. Fact is the picture is one the macro shots that I took last week with my FE(what else?). Funny thing is, the fly didn’t fly away when I took this photo. Bear in mind that I did not use any zoom at all cause my FE would automatically kill the zoom(and flash) once in super macro mode.

Most pro photographer/blogger *cough*ST*cough*Smashpop*cough* would look at the picture and probably say “what la, like that also you call macro ah? HAHAHAHAHA!” and proceed to laugh their asses off. As much as I like to lay praises to my FE, it still has its limitations as a P & S cam. Noticeably in areas such as night mode, macro, focusing and the lack of manual control.

So to compensate, what I did was I placed the lens as close to the bugger(pun intended) as possible. At one point the lens was just hovering around 2 cm from the fly and yet it stood its ground. Probably trying to tell me that this is his ground and it won’t be afraid to protect it.

To show my gratitude to the bugger for being such cooperative and willing model for my photoshoot, I decided to repay his deed in the most humanly way possible.

I swat the fella.

I had no choice. Had tonnes of clothes to hang dry that day and all he/she could do is nonchalantly place its dirty ass on the clothes hanger. Bugger.

***

Had my FYP presentation last Monday. To dismiss any rumors that the person behind this site is a 150kg hairy man, here’s a shot of me before going:

.

.

Back shot ala God of Gamblers.

One of the very few occasions where I have to where stifling formal clothes. I assure you I’m not always decked in those outfits. Usually I’d be wearing the dirtiest and most torn off shirts and pants cause I have to go to the workshop ma. The workshop is where I work on my top secret prototype, getting all sweaty handling the heavy machineries. Total manliness.

5 Comments

  1. smashpOp said,

    i dont really shoot macro… so i am a noob in that particular type of photography. ahah 🙂

  2. unig said,

    Really? But I thought you used macro with all your food pics. Must be zoom then. 🙂

  3. smashpOp said,

    haha those are fixed focus shots. thanks for acknowledging btw. 🙂

  4. unig said,

    Oh, now I know. Thanks for sharing though. Am planning to get an SLR in the future.

  5. misSing said,

    Give me that Ass! LOL

    I am so disappointed that you swat that fly Unig bebeh……. ah well everything is impermanent I supose.

    Love that ass…… haha

Leave a Reply

