Photography: Chancellory, library, arts faculty and a whole lot of panorama shots.

12 December, 2007 at 2:24 pm (Uni pics) (, , , , , )

It’s been a while since I did a photo post which ironically is why this site was set up for in the first place. To chronicle about the stuffs I do and see, immortalized in the form of digital pixel clusters. I guess I was too caught up with ranting. Hmm, must start loosening the anal muscles a bit.

Moving on, here’s some shots I took about 2 months ago of my uni but never had the chance to put them up. You can skip this post if you don’t study or work in my uni. But if you’re up for some kick-ass photography with a simple P & S camera, by all means go ahead.

.

The weather was nice, bright and sunny. It rained for a couple of weeks before, so it felt good to finally see blue skies and clouds the way they’re meant to be.

.

The first of the panorama shots (click the pic for a bigger view). I still need to improve on this aspect though, there’s too much concaving effect. But hey, at least I managed to squeeze the 2 most recognizable landmarks – the water towers. I did a post on the towers before here and explained their freaky resemblance to KL tower and other landmarks.

.

Click the pic for a bigger view

I noticed one way to reduce the concaving effect of panorama photos is to stitch less photos. In this case, I used 2. It’s still not perfect though. Can anyone give me some tips to improve it?

The lake you’re looking at is actually a man-made lake that lies smack in the middle of the uni. Look closely and you’ll notice some construction going on the right side. The lake is so large, they are building a suspension bridge to link some of the hostels(Cempaka, Bunga Raya, TAZ) to the other side, thus cutting traveling time and distance to the Engineering, Resource Science and Computer faculties.

Correct me if I’m wrong but I believe this would be the first suspension bridge in a public uni.

.

A lot of buildings in the new campus are influenced by Zen-like design, no thanks to the Japanese architect who designed them. This circle is located just outside the library and overlooks the Chancellory. By the way, I took this pic when I saw a similar one on someone’s Flickr. I was inspired by him.

.

More strange Japanese inspired architecture. Notice how the red pillar on the far right is below the white pillar that crosses diagonally? And the yellow pillar is on top of the white pillar while the blue pillar is separated from the rest.

.

Pillars of knowledge. Corny, I know.

.

The arts faculty which has the most interesting design by far. Like the rest of the uni, the fac is very big and long, stretching all the way to the back.

.

Still the art faculty. I used the ‘diffuse glow’ function in photoshop.

.

Reach for the skies! Wtf.

.

A bigger view. Notice the circle (ring?) structure I mentioned earlier on the bottom right of the pic?

.

Haha, you knew I would slip in a panorama shot once in a while right? I think the architect is obsessed with ring structures, cause here’s another ring thing that encircles the roof. Watched one too many Ring-O I believe.

And look at the second pillar from the left, the ones supporting the roof. Yeah, yeah I know. Bad stitching. I don’t wanna repair it though. Sometimes, somethings are meant to be imperfect.

.

Last panorama shot, I promise and yes it’s clickable as always. The golf course they’re building right next to the uni and stretch all the way to my hostel. I wrote about it here before. I think I did a pretty good job with this one (3 pics).

1 Comment

  1. Golfing Facts - Improve your game! » Blog Archive » Photography: Chancellory, library, arts faculty and a whole lot of ... said,

    […] unig placed an interesting blog post on Photography: Chancellory, library, arts faculty and a whole lot of …Here’s a brief overview… I promise and yes it’s clickable as always. The golf course they’re building right next to the uni and stretch all the way to my hostel. I wrote about it here before. I think I did a pretty good job with this one (3 pics). […]

Leave a Reply

