The origin of the name that nobody cares about

16 January, 2008 at 9:16 pm (Uncategorized) ()

 .

Question of the day:

How do you guys pronounce this site? It’s a company specializing in making photo voltaic cells. I found out 2 ways of saying it from the Fake Steve Jobs site – mee-ah-so-LAY dot com or MyAsshole.com.

I’m rooting for the latter though.

I don’t think I can continue writing anymore without clearing some questions first, especially after getting some nasty mails from people threatening to rape my beloved Olympus FE-115. Apparently some people are dissatisfied with my ‘About Me’ section and demanded to know more about the genius behind this blog (joke ok?). So to clear any doubts I’m going to put it in an easy-to-read FAQ format:

.

Why UniG?

Why not?

Just kidding. A lot of people thought it was some lame-ass name meant to sound like unique(I think it does, in some foreign language) but the truth is far from it. The name is actually an abbreviation of my university’s theme songUni*** Gemilang. Yes I still refuse to spell the name of my uni because I don’t want it to appear in any search engine when queried. Not because I write anything bad about them, just that I don’t like the feeling of being scrutinized by any authorities.

I go by 2 handles – one for this blog which I’m sure most of you already know now. Another one is my real nickname which I use every time I leave a comment at your site. Hope this clears any confusion now.

.

What course are you taking?

What’s the other name for your car’s motor, the one that moves the car? Add the suffix –ering to it, then figure it out. It’s that easy.

.

Why wordpress? Are you against commercialization, ads on blogs, etc?

One of the main reason I started blogging IS because I wanted to earn money from ads. Everyone was saying how easy it was, there’s Nuffnang, Advertlets, Google Adsense, Pay-Per-Post and etc. What can I say? I got suckered in.

So I registered with WordPress, because it seems that all the cool people were blogging on that platform. Too many people were already blogging with blogspot and I wanted to try another platform. But there’s just one tiny problem – WordPress doesn’t allow me to put ads on my site! Unless I upgrade which means having to pay money or else I won’t be able to change the HTML. I tried tinkering with the widgets but nothing worked. Bummer. Should have used blogspot instead haha.

But it doesn’t matter anymore. I don’t mind not earning a single cent from blogging because all the blogging tools I use are free – WordPress, Flickr, Photobucket, YouTube. And I don’t have to worry about stuffs like PageRank, fulfilling any quotas or be pressured to churn out posts just to keep viewership up. Now, I’ll just write what I want to and when I want to. No obligations, no pressures at all.

Let me clear this though, I have nothing against my fellow friends/bloggers who makes money out of their site(s). It’s their right and a matter of preference. I’m not a rich person, and earning money from blogging would probably help me a bit but I don’t wanna write glowing reviews about some products or services that I myself have never tried before. And worst is I might actually recommend something crappy just because I get paid to write about it. And let’s admit it, when you get paid to review something, no matter how shitty it is you’ll still ended up sugar coating it because of MONEY.

Interestingly, I once read a post about the effect of diabetes on a blogger’s loved ones and how devastating it was to him. Ironically there was an ad for Coke and fatty fast food right next to it on the side bar.

Brings the meaning of capitalism to a whole new level, eh?

So, rest assured that whatever review I did will be based on my experience and I’ll write it as honest as I could. Promise.

More of my thoughts on blog advertisements here.

.

Why do you have to put a ‘Shot with Olympus FE-115′ banner in your posts?

A lot of people asked me what equipment I use, so I put up the banner whenever I post pictures taken with my FE. It’s also my way of saying how the el cheapo FE pwns all other equipment especially those expensive and big ones that still take mediocre pics.

.

Why are you anonymous? Why don’t you show us a picture of yourself?

Read this. I have shown pictures of myself before here. Well, technically I did.

.

Can I use any of the materials from your blog like articles you’ve written, pictures, videos and etc?

Read this. So yeah, that means you can use any of the materials published in my site created by me as long as you credit me and no editing is allowed. But remember, I only allow them to be used for non-commercial purposes only. If you are earning from your site (advertisements, etc.) then you are absolutely not allowed to utilize any of my materials. If you still want to use them, ask for permission first – unigmas[at]yahoo[dot]com

My pictures are usually watermarked. Those that aren’t are normally obtained from other sources. So are the occasional music files. Feel free to use those.

.

Do you use Photoshop on your pictures?

Yes, some of them. I use PS to watermark my pictures, do some color correction and contrast adjustments. The software did exist for a reason you know. However, I DO NOT super-impose or add anything that doesn’t belong there in the first place.

This however, doesn’t apply to pictures that I purposely spruce up for comical/humor reasons.

.

Are you a Sarawakian?

No.

.

Why aren’t you writing anything about politics?

My understanding of politics is as much as my understanding of Fluid Mechanics which is around 5%. Go figure.

This is by far the most political piece I’ve written. And here’s the continuation.

.

What’s your astrological sign/zodiac?

Astrology is utter horse radish. I don’t believe it. Tell me, how is it possible to group 6 billion+ people into just 12 different signs and personalities. Does that mean there are only 12 types of people in the world? That is crap.

Saddam Hussein and U2’s Bono happen to be Tauruses. Do you see Bono running around poisoning villages with WMDs? Wake up and smell the shit people.

.

Oh, I’m Aries by the way ;-)

.

Well, I guess that’s it. Anymore questions?

One more thing, the author reserves the right not to answer questions he deems inappropriate ( i.e: length of private parts, involvements with the CIA, his weird taste for cincaluk etc etc you get the drift.)

And what better way to end this post than a picture of the author himself:

 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Last minute studying, typical of me.

2 Comments

  1. Esther said,

    wow.. what a nice and clear picture of yourself to end the post

  2. YEN said,

    LOL! What a clever way to end d post.. with a pic of urs.. n yet~
    it’s a pic from d back view~ -_-” Still all mysterious huh? =P

Leave a Reply

