Photography: Planetise your panorama pictures

1 February, 2008 at 11:37 am (Uncategorized, Uni pics) (, , , , , , , )

 

 

Update (2/2/08):I’m back in West Malaysia, bitches!

 

Damn it’s been so long since I’ve written a page about photography. So, to do this awesome site a justice I’m gonna put up planet pictures I created with some panorama pictures I took.

First things first, what are planet pictures? Simply put, planet pictures are essentially panorama pictures that has been rotated and stitched from one end to the other on a polar axis. Or something like that. Jeez, I’m not good in technical stuffs ok?

Anyway, I learned this technique from Dirk of photojojo.com and it was originally seen from this DigiSniper post .

The cool thing was this planetising picture technique has always been staring right at me all the time whenever I work with Photoshop and never realized it. Yeah, there’s a function in Photoshop that lets us create planet pictures almost effortlessly. Goes to show how much more we should learn to fully utilize PS.

Here’s a sample of some of the planet pictures I’ve made with the accompanying original panorama pictures:

panorama (originally from here):

planet:

 

 

Didn’t turn out too good cause as you can see, the left corner of the picture happens to be a lake so it’s kinda difficult to join the picture from one end to the other y’know.

panorama (originally from here):

 

planet:

 

 

Ok, slightly better. Looked more like an egg-shaped planet than a sphere one. I used Photoshop CS1 to create these pictures. I’m using CS3 Extended version at the moment.

panorama (originally from here):

 

planet:

 

 

Alright, I cheated a bit. That wasn’t actually a panorama picture. Just to show that you don’t really need panorama pictures to make planets. Of course, panorama pictures would create much better 3 dimensional effect. The picture on top looked kinda 2-D. Rather flat.

panorama (originally from here):

 

planet:

 

 

Bear in mind that I did all these pictures in 5 to 10 minutes without much cropping and adjustment. Which explains the half-arsed looking effort. Given more time I think I could have come up with better stuffs.

But I’m certainly hooked on this planet thing on PS. I’ve almost planetise every single panorama pictures in my possession hehe.

 

***Update***

 

Most of you would have probably known that I am back in West Malaysia to celebrate CNY. Luckily none of the SNAFU that happened on my last flight home occurred again.

 

Here are some photos I’ve taken on the plane:

 

 

Took a picture of some fella who’s taking a picture of the plane’s wing. Forgive his kiasu-ism, probably his first time on an airplane hehe.

 

His kiasu-ism eventually rubbed off on me and hence I proceeded to do what he did. I took a picture of the wing too:

 

 

Some conversation I heard from the front seats. I wasn’t eaves dropping, really it was that loud.

 

7 Comments

  1. Terence said,

    hey there! that’s waaaay cool! u don’t need to be so modest bout them hehehe

  2. YEN said,

    LOL! Soooo cute~!! 😉

  3. Psychotic Ape said,

    First one came out best, it’s best to use ones taken in the morning or afternoon when the sky is blue.

  4. unig said,

    Terence : Thank you

    YEN : Which one’s cute? The pics or me?

    Psychotic Ape : Now that you’ve mentioned it, yeah.

  5. c said,

    u took nice pictures..but always the same

  6. YEN said,

    LOL! I don’t seem to see any pics of u in dis post..

    so.. …
    it’s d planets that’s cute! 😉

    Btw, u r cute too.. Blekx~~

  7. YEN said,

    I think I need to learn photography techniques from u someday..
    U always take great pics.. n edit them well.. >< *jealous*
    even though u r using ur Olympus FE cam.. that is not even 3 megapixels(izzit?).. but still d pics r so clear..
    I wanna learn..!!

Leave a Reply

